I have been looking forward to Christmas with our little man since he was just a blip on the ultrasound and now it’s just one week away! 

I have been in the Christmas spirit since probably Halloween and normally I hate those people, but I promise I didn’t start listening to Christmas music until after Thanksgiving … like THE day after! 

Because Dean is into everything these days I decided to pair down our Christmas decorations this year. We did our tree but put up only lights (he’s a little afraid of the tree, though, so we are gonna put up ornaments this week) and I made us all new stockings and put up wreaths and bows outside on all the windows, and of course a nativity inside, but that’s it. 


Our families are of course excited about Christmas with our lil bud this year, but I’m having major anxiety because I’m hoping against all hope that they didn’t buy him too much stuff. 

For the last five years or more I have been begging my family to forego gifts for the adults because everyone is fortunate enough to have everything they need and want and we could all do better things with our money at Christmas – like give it to charities and people who actually need things. But they fight me on it every year, and this year was no different.

I know they all want to spoil Dean rotten, too, but here’s my beef with that … he doesn’t need anything, he’s not going to remember this Christmas, and I don’t want to start a trend of him expecting gobs and gobs of presents every year. I want him to appreciate the true reason for the season and the pleasure of justbeing  with family, of delicious food and fun music. I want to teach him how to be grateful rather than greedy – something that took me way too long. 

I of course want him to feel special and have gifts, but not too many. And I want those gifts to have meaning or purpose when possible so that he really can use and appreciate them instead of just collect more junk.

My family doesn’t understand this so I know I have an uphill battle for as long as we all shall live, but to me it’s worth it. And who knows, maybe one year my family will finally give in and we can actually do something good for others, instead of ourselves. I feel like that sounds really harsh and judgmental, which is the opposite of how I feel. I just want to help people, it feels great to do something for others, and it’s a feeling I want my son and my family to experience as much as possible, but especially at Christmas.

We did a couple of things on our own – the three of us – for families in need this year, and while I know Dean won’t remember it, we’ll be able to tell him every year that it’s part of our holiday traditions and we started it as a family on his first Christmas! 

Wishing you all a very Merry Christmas and a happy, healthy and prosperous New Year! 

